Nominations were accepted on February 28 for the election of office-bearers of Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC).

It took place even as the sports minister has tasked a 10-member committee with formulating a new constitution for SLC.

With three candidates from the same faction vying for the position of president- Shammi Silva, Jayantha Dharmadasa and Samantha Dodanwala, with Shammi tipped to be reelected - any challenge is unlikely for the incumbents.

Dodanwala is also contesting for vice president and secretary positions.

Seeking reelection are Dharmadasa and Ravin Wickremaratne as vice presidents and Mohan de Silva as secretary.

Lasantha Wickremasinghe is vying for treasurer, Krishantha Kapuwatte for deputy secretary and Sujeewa Godaliyadde for deputy treasurer.

As per a decision taken at an extraordinary general meeting, the SLC has appointed retired judges Malani Gunaratne and Shiromi Perera and retired administrative officer Sunil Sirisena as the election committee.

The election takes place on May 20.


Related News:

Sri Lanka Cricket to be dissolved?

Interim order issued against sports minister’s gazette


Join our WhatsApp group

Screenshot 2022 09 05 at 11.28.44 AM

Follow Us


Exchange Rates


Electric Bill