The National Council is holding its inaugural meeting today (29) at the parliamentary complex.

Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena chairs the meeting from 10.30 am.

It comprises not more than 35 MPs, including the leader of the House, opposition leader, chief government whip and the chief opposition whip.

It will determine Parliament's general priorities to guide the formulation of medium and long-term national policies and to agree on short and medium-term common minimum economic stabilization programmes.

Opposition leader Sajith Premadasa will not attend, saying he has several public meetings scheduled for the day, and that he cannot attend the council meeting at short notice.

The SLFP, Supreme Lanka Council, JJB, TNA and the Freedom People’s Council are boycotting it, while the TPA led by Mano Ganeshan will attend.


Join our WhatsApp group

Screenshot 2022 09 05 at 11.28.44 AM