Parties in the opposition are making extensive plans to defeat the state of emergency at tomorrow’s (27) vote in parliament, political sources say.

Unofficial level talks in this regard are ongoing among the SJB, SLFP, TNA, JJB, Dullas Alahapperuma faction, 10 parties led by Wimal Weerawansa and Anura Priyadarshana Yapa’s group of independents, according to the sources.

Parliament that meets at 10.00 am is due to debate the state of emergency until 4.30 pm, with the government hoping to get it passed thereafter.

The incumbent president, when he was in an acting capacity, declared the emergency law under the Public Security Act through gazette extraordinary 2288/30 of 17 July 2022.

If not passed by parliament within 14 days, it will automatically get abolished.

The gazette notification cited a situation of public emergency for the particular announcement in order for the safety of the public and the continuation of essential supplies and services to the public.


Certain JSB MPs secretly support govt. - Anura


Meanwhile, JJB leader Anura Kumara Dissanayake claims that certain MPs in the SJB are secretly supporting the government.

Even though they used their vote for Ranil Wickremesinghe in a secret ballot, it will not be the same in other situations, he says.

Commenting on the 134 votes received by Wickremesinghe, the JJB leader says some SJB MPs speak against the government in public while supporting it in secret.

The vote on the state of emergency is not by secret ballot and it will not get those 134 votes, says Dissanayake.

“Mark my words. The state of emergency will not get those 134 votes. Those who voted in secret from the opposition will raise their vote against it. They are such animals,” he adds.


Follow Us


Exchange Rates


Electric Bill