Parliamentarian Prof. Charitha Herath was elected as the President of the Sri Lanka-German Parliamentary Friendship Association.

The meeting to elect the panel of office bearers to the Sri Lanka-German Parliamentary Friendship Association of the Ninth Parliament was held at the Parliament yesterday (09) under the patronage of the Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardana.

The German Ambassador to Sri Lanka Dr. Felix Neumann was present as the chief guest and the Deputy Speaker Hon. Ajith Rajapakse, Ministers, State Ministers, Members of Parliament and the Secretary General of Parliament Mrs. Kushani Rohanadeera, were present at this event.

MPs Sivagnanam Shritharan, Niroshan Perera and Dr. Harini Amarasuriya were appointed as Vice Presidents while Dr. Harsha de Silva was appointed as Secretary. MPs Harshana Rajakaruna was appointed as Assistant Secretary and Udayana Kirindigoda was appointed as the Treasurer.

Addressing the occasion, Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardana stated that there is a long relationship between Sri Lanka and Germany of more than 70 years and the establishment of this friendship association will further strengthen that relationship.

Dr. Felix Neumann, the German Ambassador to Sri Lanka, congratulated the newly appointed office bearers and emphasized the importance of the Parliamentary Friendship Association to develop the relationship between the two countries in various fields.

Prof. Charitha Herath expressed his gratitude for being elected as the Chair to the Friendship Association and stated that this will pave the way for enhancing the existing cooperation between Sri Lanka and Germany.

426655032 739344191674716 2968074422999299467 n


WhatsApp Image 2023 08 02 at 15.09.47

Follow Us


Exchange Rates


Electric Bill