More than 50 sports clubs are planning to seek redress in the Supreme Court against the new regulations introduced for local sports governing bodies.

These sports clubs allege the sports minister has arbitrarily enacted the rules at the instigation of persons wanting to see ruin in sports.

These new regulations will prevent a number of deep-rooted officials from contesting for office again.

Most incumbent officials of Sri Lanka Cricket cannot hold office any further.

They are president Shammi de Silva, who has already had two tenures, vice president Jayantha Dharmadasa and secretary Mohan de Silva as both are past the age of 70 years, and secretary Mohan de Silva who has been in the executive committee for eight years.

Both president Palitha Ferando and secretary Prema Pinnawala of the Athletic Association cannot contest again due to both the age factor and long periods in office.

Twice secretary of the National Olympic Committee Maxwell de Silva too, cannot expect another term.

So do Badminton Association president Rohan de Silva and Wushu Federation chief Manel Dharmakeerthi.

Meanwhile, former interim cricket president Sidath Wettimuny has said the new rules are ineffective in cricket, which needs a separate set of regulations.


Related News:

Jaswar Umar & Sri Ranga hand in nominations for football presidency

New regulations bar many from contesting again for sports bodies

A new sports act to suit the times - Roshan


Join our WhatsApp group

Screenshot 2022 09 05 at 11.28.44 AM

Follow Us


Exchange Rates


Electric Bill