Three new governors were sworn in today (17) before President Ranil Wickremesinghe at the Presidential Secretariat in Colombo.

Former minister Lakshman Yapa Abeywardena was sworn in as the governor of the north-western province, former member of the election commission PSM Charles was sworn in as the governor of the northern province, and former parliamentarian Senthil Thondaman was sworn in as the governor of the eastern province.

The president's media division on Monday (15) said that the governors of the northern, eastern and north-western provinces were removed from their positions and that new governors would be appointed today (17).

The removed governors were Jeevan Thiagaraja, Anuradha Yahampath and Wasantha Karannagoda.

According to sources at the president's office, governor of the sabaragamuwa province Tikiri Kobbekaduwa, who is currently overseas, will be replaced by former minister Navin Dissanayake upon his return to the island, 

'The Leader' first reported on May 15 that PSM Charles, Senthil Thondaman and Lakshman Yapa Abeywardena will be appointed as governors.


Related News:

Three provincial governors removed


Join our WhatsApp group

Screenshot 2022 09 05 at 11.28.44 AM

Follow Us


Exchange Rates


Electric Bill