Twenty-one ruling MPs have sought the appointment of a select committee to inquire into two incidents of foreign ships catching fire in Sri Lankan waters.

They handed over a letter detailing their request with regard to the New Diamond and X-Press Pearl maritime disasters to speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena today (09).

These MPs call for the speedy appointment of a PSC with a membership of 15 from both ruling and opposition benches to investigate both incidents.

Signatories to the petition are Jayantha Ketagoda, Sanjeewa Edirimanne, Yadamini Gunawardena, W.D. Weerasinghe, Ranjith Bandara, Madura Withanage, Rajika Wickramasinghe, Gunatilake Rajapakse, Kumarasiri Ratnayake, Jagath Kumara, Mahindananda Aluthgamage, Sampath Atukorale, Nalaka Kottegoda, Sudarshana Denipitiya, K.A.U.K. Gunatilake, Nimal Lansa, H.M.M. Haris, Sarath Weerasekara, Muditha de Soyza, S.B. Dissanayake and Pradeep Undugoda.


Related News:

G.L. asks CBSL governor to explain X-Press Pearl ‘bribe’

Who received bribe to cover-up X-Press Pearl disaster?

MEPA’s final report on X-Press Pearl disaster to AG in coming week

CID probes political vlogger Darshana Handungoda over X-Press Pearl claims

SL will lose USD 10B X-Press Pearl compensation claim – CEJ

Sectoral oversight committee discusses X-Press Pearl disaster

X-Press Pearl compensation case to be filed mid-February in Singapore

AG’s Dept.-MEPA disagree on X-Press Pearl compensation case


Follow Us


Exchange Rates


Electric Bill