The Presidential Secretariat has told three provincial governors to resign, reports ‘Lankadeepa’.

They are the governors of the northern, eastern and Sabaragamuwa provinces. It is tradition for provincial governors to resign when a new president takes office, said a senior official of the Presidential Secretariat.

However, they did not resign after Ranil Wickremesinghe took office, and the president gave them some time to step down, said the official.

New governors are to be appointed once the president returns after attending the coronation of UK’s King Charles III.

Meanwhile, reports that Anuradha Yahampath is under pressure from officials at the Presidential Secretariat to resign.

These officials are exerting pressure on her at the request of certain Muslim and Tamil extremist politicians, said the website run by the collective of national organizations.

It said Yahampath has been targeted especially after she reopened Sinhala Vidyalaya in Batticaloa.

Also, foreign minister Ali Sabri has urged her to suspend a project with Chinese government investment in Trincomalee town.


Join our WhatsApp group

Screenshot 2022 09 05 at 11.28.44 AM

Follow Us


Exchange Rates


Electric Bill