The National Police Commission (NPC) has approved the transfer of six senior DIGs, while recommending the temporary stationing of another, Ajith Rohana, to the police headquarters.

Seven senior officers were transferred with immediate effect on a recommendation by the secretary to the public security ministry with covering approval by the NPC.

However, senior DIG Rohana sent letters to the ministry secretary and the NPC, refusing to abide by the order for his transfer to the Eastern province, saying it is both illegal and unconstitutional.

Taking the objection into consideration, the NPC posted him temporarily to the police headquarters and approved the transfer of the other six officers.

Therefore, the position of senior DIG of Eastern province has fallen vacant.

The others given transfers are Lalith Pathinayake, S.C. Medawatte, W. K. Jayalath, Ranmal Kodithuwakku, P. Weerasuriya and L.K.W.K. Silva.


Related News:

SDIG Ajith Rohana refuses to abide by transfer order

Seven Senior DIGs given immediate transfers


Join our WhatsApp group

Screenshot 2022 09 05 at 11.28.44 AM

Follow Us


Exchange Rates


Electric Bill