The SLPP breakaway group led by Anura Priyadarshana Yapa has denied media reports that they have joined the SJB.

Yapa said they only had a meeting with opposition leader Sajith Premadasa as part of preliminary talks to work together with all parties in the opposition.

However, the opposition leader’s media unit claimed through social media yesterday (14) the six MPs led by Yapa allied with the SJB.

It named them as Anura Priyadarshana Yapa, Chandima Weerakkody, Dr. Sudarshani Fernandopulle, John Seneviratne, Jayaratne Herath and Priyankara Jayaratne.



Welcoming the group, Premadasa extended them gratitude for joining the SJB to work towards rebuilding the country, said the media unit.

The opposition leader also said former president Chandrika Kumaratunga gave her fullest support and blessings for the alliance.

Yapa said their alliance was the result of several rounds of talks during a considerable period, and promised to support the building of a powerful force.

Later, Fernandopulle, Seneviratne, Herath and Jayaratne rejected reports that they have joined the SJB.


Join our WhatsApp group

Screenshot 2022 09 05 at 11.28.44 AM

Follow Us


Exchange Rates


Electric Bill