The National Council decided at its inaugural meeting today (29) to appoint two subcommittees to deal with two key matters it is tasked with.

One will determine Parliament's general priorities to guide the formulation of medium and long-term national policies.

The other will agree on short and medium-term common minimum economic stabilization programmes.

The meeting at the parliamentary complex was chaired by speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena.

It was boycotted by the SLFP, JJB and the TNA, while the opposition leader was represented by Lakshman Kiriella after the SJB initially refused to take part.

The National Council will meet on every Thursday of the week when parliament is in session.



Join our WhatsApp group

Screenshot 2022 09 05 at 11.28.44 AM