1200 x 80 DMirror


President Gotabaya Rajapaksa has backtracked on his decision to not appoint candidates who were defeated at the last general election to top posts in the government.

Accordingly, Anura Fernando and Keerthi Sri Wijesinghe who were defeated at the general election have been appointed as chairpersons of CeyBank and Coconut Development Board respectively, 'LankaCNews' reported.

It is learned that if some ministers are allowed to give posts to such losers, a group of ministers are ready to request the President to give them the same posts.

In this backdrop, certain government ministers are planning to request the President to appoint persons who were defeated at the parliamentary election, it is learnt.

Meanwhile, former minister Lakshman Yapa Abeywardena, who contested unsuccessfully from the Matara district, is tipped to be appointed as Governor of the Southern Province.


Related News:

Governor reshuffle on the cards?