Sri Lanka Police has refuted rumours of imposing an island wide curfew until May 17 due to the prevailing COVID-19 situation.

Police spokesperson DIG Ajith Rohana said that the Criminal Investigation Department (CID) has launched a probe to identify individuals who have disseminated this false message which had been circulating on social media platforms.


Several areas isolated

However, the government has isolated several areas due the rapid surge of new Covid-19 cases.

Accordingly, several police areas in the country have been placed under isolation to contain the latest wave of Covid-19 infections, Army Chief Gen. Shavendra Silva said.


Colombo District:

Nampamunuwa and Gorakapitiya GN Divisions in Piliyandala police area

Monaragala District:

Wellawaya, Wasamaveherayaya and Kottamgambokka GN Divisions in the Wellawaya police area.

Helamulla and Galamuna GN Division in the Siyambalanduwa police area.

Rahathangama GN Division in the Buttala police area

Ampara District:

Dehiattakandiya and Kadirapura GN Divisions in the Dehiattakandiya police area
Kumarigama GN Division in the Uhana police area

Matale District:

Naula, Dambulla, Galewela and Matale police areas
Pallekumbura GN Division in the Ukuwela police area
Dambulla Economic Center

Galle District:

Godahena and Thalgaagoda GN Divisions in the Ambalangoda police area
Imbulagoda and Katudampe GN Divisions in the Rathgama police area.

Polonnaruwa District:

Siriketha GN Division in the Hingurakgoda police area
Sarubima GN Division in the Elahera police area

Gampaha District:

Polhena, Heeralugedara and kaluaggala GN Divisions in the Kotadeniyava police area.

Asvannawatta (East) GN Division in the Minuwangoda police area

Kalutara District:

Walallawita South, Makalandawa, Bothalawa, Katuyakale Walmigoda, Pahalahawessa, Miriswatta, Pelawatte East, Pelawatte North GN Divisions in the Meegahathanna police area

Adhikarigoda GN Division in the Kalutara South police area

Bolluthanna, Igurudaluwa, Midalana, Morapitiya, Palanda, Wasamahadilla and Morapitiya North GN Divisions in the Baduraeliya police area

Theeniyawala GN Division in the Theeniyawala police area

Trincomalee District:

Poompuhar GN Division in the Trincomalee police area

Sumedagampura GN Division in the Uppuveli police area

Madco, Koviladi and Linganagar GN Divisions in the Trinocomalee police area

Kawattikuda and China BAy GN Divisions in the China Bay police area.

Kurunegala District:

Kumbukgate Police Division, Niraviya, Thittawelgama Kumbukgate and Udubadalawa GN Divisions in the Kumbukgate police area

Pannala Police Area and Kuliyapitiya Police Area

Nikadalupotha GN Division (1185) in the Wellawa Police Division

Ratnapura District:

Hapugoda GN Division in the Kalawana police area

Follow Us


Exchange Rates


Electric Bill