1200 x 80 DMirror


 The constitution of the 'Samagi Jana Balawegaya' led by Sajith Premadasa has been approved by the party's interim working committee. That was at a special meeting held at
the Bandarawela Hotel last Saturday (19).

According to the constitution, the post of party leader has been established. However, all senior leaders of the party have unanimously opposed the appointment of a deputy leader or any similar posts.

The leader of the party will be appointed by the National Executive Committee each year. Opposition Leader Sajith Premadasa is to be appointed as the Leader of the party.

A post of chairman has also been established and former minister and Kegalle district MP Kabir Hashim is tipped to be appointed as the chairman.

According to the constitution, there are 06 Senior Vice President positions and 05 Vice President positions.

According to reports, Kumara Welgama, Rajitha Senaratne, Champika Ranawaka, Thalatha Athukorala, Imthiaz Bakeer Marker and Sarath Fonseka have been nominated as Senior Vice Presidents.

Former ministers Ravindra Samaraweera, Sujeewa Senasinghe, Ajith P. Perera, Chandrani Bandara and Ranjith Aluvihare have been nominated as Vice Presidents.
Tissa Ranjith

Ranjith Madduma Bandara is tipped to be reappointed as the General Secretary of the party while MP Ashoka Abeysinghe is likely to be appointed as the Deputy Secretary.

It is reported that there is also a possibility of appointing former parliamentarian Sujeewa Senasinghe as party's Deputy Secretary while appointing Ashoka Abeysinghe as its Deputy Chairman.

Tissa Attanayake has been nominated as the National Organiser of the party while MP Harsha de Silva has been nominated as the Treasurer.
Working Committee:
The proposed Working Committee of the SJB will consist of about 80 members.

Parliamentarians, Provincial Chief Ministers or Opposition Leaders will also be represented in the Executive Committee officially.

Furthermore, four members representing the party's Municipal and Urban Council Association, including its chairman and secretary along with three trade union representatives, two representatives of the women's wing and two representatives of the youth wing will be included in the Working Committee.

In addition, the Party Leader will appoint electorate organisers according to opinions of activists of the relevant areas and based on the recommendations of the Management Committee and the approval of the Working Committee.

Also, the heads of the 32 task forces proposed by Sajith Premadasa will be members of the Working Committee.
The SJB Constitution has been drafted by Furman Qasim PC and Thisath Wijayagunawardena PC. 

Attorney-at-Law Suren Fernando has also extended his support with MP Tissa Attanayake acting as the coordinator of the drafting process.  

SJB Alliance:

Meanwhile, it is reported that the Samagi Jana Balawegaya, a party recognised by the Election Commission, will continue to function as Sajith Premadasa's official political party in the future.  It has been proposed to form a broad alliance called the 'Samagi Janabala Sandanaya' by inviting other parties that contested the previous general elections under the SJB banner.

Sajith Premadasa will head the new alliance and will have a leadership council comprising MPs Rauff Hakeem, Rishad Bathiudeen, Palani Digambaram, Mano Ganeshan and a representative of the Jathika Hela Urumaya (JHU).